*DAYTIME AND EVENING GENERAL GRIEF GROUPS AVAILABLE EVERY WEEK* CLICK HERE TO JOIN US!

Years Later, Still Feeling the Same

Discussion in 'Loss of Sibling' started by klonely, Mar 19, 2020.

1. klonely

klonely New Member

I feel guilty every single day. My oldest sister was killed in a car accident along with two others when a truck driver high on meth lost control of his vehicle. I thank the universe for my youngest nephew's survival. But I think about the sentencing hearing and how the attorneys said they were hopeful for our healing since we had forgiven him. But I didn't then, and I still haven't. My sister was estranged from my entire family but had reached out to me a few days before she had died, wanting to see me that weekend. I feel robbed of a relationship I could have had. I feel disconnected from my other siblings because I know I'm growing up to be just like our sister. I graduated high school and dropped out of college, my brother got married, my other sister is supposed to be getting married in a few days and the only thing I can think of is how shitty it is that there should be four siblings in all of these pictures when there aren't. I'd be okay with her not wanting to talk to us, as long as she was still here.

2. Amy Lynne

Amy Lynne New Member

I am so sorry for your loss. I too feel the same of missing a sibling - not sure how to go about this.

3. David Hughes

David Hughes Well-Known Member

Klonely & Amy,

I am sorry for both your losses. Losing a sibling is just awful. Nadine, my wife, while we were married also lost, both her brothers, and one sister. During those times it was so very hard for her as I am sure it is for both of you.