*DAYTIME AND EVENING GENERAL GRIEF GROUPS AVAILABLE EVERY WEEK* CLICK HERE TO JOIN US!

Too Many Losses

Discussion in 'Dealing With Multiple Losses' started by CAL425, Aug 27, 2021.

1. CAL425

CAL425 Member

These past 16 months have been difficult to say the least.
    I'm a teacher and March 6, 2020 a former student died due to CoVid.
    March 7, 2020 one of my sisters died.
    April 3, 2020 my mother died.
    April 8, 2021my father's best friend (he and his wife were my 2nd set of parents).
    April 25, 2021 my last living grandparent died at 102.
    Yesterday, August 26, 2021, my other sister died.

Due to CoVid and my sister's death I couldn't go to my students funeral. There was no funeral for my sister or mother or grandmother, and there won't be one for my other sister.

Did I mention my dad was diagnosed as being in the early stages of either Alzheimer's or Dementia. I am his primary caregiver and support. I am a single mom (widow of 8 years), and I feel like I'm drowning. I feel lost and confused.

2. Daniele

Daniele Member

Cal, I'm so very sorry to hear of all of your losses. This must be SO hard for you. I'm glad that you're here, and I have found the members here to be very supportive of me and my loss situation. I can't really imagine how your loss/grief trajectory will/should look, as I had (only) two losses and felt similarly lost and like I was just wandering through life. I also have a parent w/dementia - my mother who is now in memory care due to safety issues. Wow, the world is hard in these times.
    What type of students/ages do you teach? I am a professor myself. Let me know if you want to chat or if there is anything I can do to support you through this heavy time.

3. CAL425

CAL425 Member