*DAYTIME AND EVENING GENERAL GRIEF GROUPS AVAILABLE EVERY WEEK* CLICK HERE TO JOIN US!

Lost Mother to Alzheimer's Disease

Discussion in 'Loss of a Parent' started by Cathy Tumlin, Dec 7, 2018.

1. Cathy Tumlin

Cathy Tumlin Member

Hi All. I lost my mother to Alzheimer's the Friday before Thanksgiving. In a very real way, I've been losing her in pieces for a couple of years. I guess I thought that would make the actual physical loss a little easier, but that doesn't seem to be the case. 2018 has been a terrible year even before that happened. My husband has had 7 surgeries since the end of January and I've been taking care of him, which took me away from helping my sister care for Mom. She lived 4 hours away with my sister and I used to go up every 3rd weekend to visit and give my sister a break, but once my husband's health problems started I had to quit doing that. Not only do I feel like I let both Mom and my sister down when they needed me most, but I've had to deal with quite a bit of resentment towards my husband because his illnesses were pretty much caused by his smoking, eating habits and refusal to take care of his diabetes. I know logically that this point of view is useless and wrong, but logic isn't stopping the emotions. So how in the world do I deal with losing Mom, take care of my husband the way he needs and deserves, and make a memorable Christmas for my kids and grandkids when all I want to do is cancel the whole thing and go to bed for a week or so?

2. Sciguy

Sciguy Well-Known Member

Logic plays no part in grieving. My mother died suddenly in a May - one week before Mother’s Day. Even though I knew there was really nothing I could have done, I was plagued with the “what if’s” for months.

3. Cathy Tumlin

Cathy Tumlin Member