*DAYTIME AND EVENING GENERAL GRIEF GROUPS AVAILABLE EVERY WEEK* CLICK HERE TO JOIN US!

Loss of my Dog and Best Friend

Discussion in 'Finding it Difficult to Move Foward' started by Meggie, Oct 11, 2018.

1. Meggie

Meggie New Member

8 days ago, I lost my beloved family dog Dexter to old-age. He was 13 years old. I've had him since I was seven years old, and I can't remember a life without him. I haven't experienced loss or grief before, and I absolutely don't know how to handle this. I've tried to find pet bereavement communities but was unable to find one; regardless of it was a pet or human who passed away, I believe the emotion of grief stays the same. I'm a college student and I'm finding it hard to go about my every day life because I miss him so much. We made the loving decision to euthanize him, and he died in my arms. I feel so empty.

I hear from other people that it will get better with time. But will it really?? I've had trouble eating and sleeping. When he first got sick in March, I sank into a severe depression, and feel myself going to the "darkness" again.

I know he is at peace, but I'm left suffering and mourning. I decided to get a paw print tattoo on my wrist to memorialize him and have written posts about my sadness on my dog blog. I'm just trying to find other people who understand the emotion of grief and might be able to help me.