*DAYTIME AND EVENING GENERAL GRIEF GROUPS AVAILABLE EVERY WEEK* CLICK HERE TO JOIN US!

18 months and I still can't focus or remember or believe.

Discussion in 'Grief in Common Updates, Questions & Answers' started by SHARON M HUFNAGEL, Mar 18, 2018.

1. It's been 18 months since I lost my husband to cancer. He battled for almost 3 years. I'm a school teacher and I'm going back to work, but I find it terribly hard. I can't remember things anymore. I get mixed up on days, meetings, and assignments for my students. Will this last forever? My kids say I need to move on. What does that mean? I mean, seriously, what does that mean?

2. Sheila512

Sheila512 Well-Known Member

Sharon, My loss is also about 18 months ago...it seems that this year is harder than the first., but I am strting to see a slight breakthrough. I was in a fog the first year and feel like I had conquered doing everything alone. However, this emptness is here to stay...it's how yo manage it. I work part time (speech therapist) and it keeps me focused and forces me to get up and go three days a week. I have a rescue dog and he forces me to walk and take him out a few times a day. When the school had a water main break and I had no where to go, I didn't get dresed for days and walked the dog with pajamas and a coat. Moving on connotes forgetting the love of your life. I think what you kids mean is that you have to start to focus on yourself. Look outward becaue whether you like it or not, your future is under your control. I have my days of grieving but I also starting to have a few days every now and then. when I find joy in something. I heard someone say that joy disarms a broken heart. I bought a broken heart necklace and wear it daily but I am thinking of physically taking it off...it may be better if I don't advertise my constant grief. It does not mean I am not grieving. I went of my first date with Steve at age 14 to his senior prom in 1959. That is a long history.