*DAYTIME AND EVENING GENERAL GRIEF GROUPS AVAILABLE EVERY WEEK* CLICK HERE TO JOIN US!

I lost my hero, my dad.

Discussion in 'Coping After a Sudden Loss' started by emkhalvo, May 31, 2018.

Tags:
  1. emkhalvo

emkhalvo New Member

I am new to this, and my therapist mentioned I should give this a try.

In April (2018), my father was taken to the hospital for what they thought at the time was a heart attack. My mom saw him having struggling when they went to bed, called the ambulance and started CPR. This happened during a terrible snow storm which made the EMTs take 15 min to get there. Once they got there, they had to shock him a few times to get him ready to transport.

My mom called my boyfriend and asked him to take me to the hospital where I met her and the rest of my siblings. We were all a wreck but thinking, “many people have heart attacks and make it” so we stayed hopeful. Once we met the doctor, the told us he was stable but in critical condition and is now in the cardiac ICU.

After a long 7 days, they declare him brain dead from the lack of oxygen he experienced during this cardiac episode. As a family we decided to take him off life support. It was the hardest decision we had to make. We gathered around him and I held his hand the whole time.

I’m 24 years old and lost my best friend. My hero. He will never be able to walk me down the aisle when I get married or meet my future children. And I struggle with getting up in the morning and facing the fact he’s gone.

2. Del

Del New Member

I’m so very sorry for your loss. May you find the strength in small moments to keep going. I was never taught about grief. I lose two years of my life and nearly my own life when my dad died. Hand in there with every ounce of the love he gave you.

3. Lindsay0916

Lindsay0916 Member